إعادة تدوير البطارية

إعادة تدوير البطارية

This post is also available in: English हिन्दी

إعادة تدوير بطارية حمض الرصاص

نموذج لإعادة تدوير البطارية في اقتصاد دائري

في هذا بلوق ، وسوف ننظر في إعادة تدوير البطارية وخاصة بطاريات حمض الرصاص كنموذج لصناعة تخزين الطاقة. ونحن جميعا ندرك مفهوم وفائدة الاقتصاد الدائري. وأهم جزء من ذلك هو عدم الاقتصار على إعادة تدوير السلع المستعملة، بل أيضاً وجود بنية تحتية راسخة وآمنة لجمع ونقل المواد الخردة. ومع تزايد استخدام البطاريات في العديد من التطبيقات التجارية والصناعية، ولا سيما المركبات الكهربائية وأنظمة تخزين الطاقة، هناك قلق متزايد بشأن مصادر المواد الخام للبطاريات وإمكانية إعادة تدوير تلك البطاريات. ومن الواضح إلى حد ما أن قابلية إعادة التدوير وتوافر المواد الخام لتصنيعها مرتبطان ارتباطا لا ينفصم.

هناك العديد من تقنيات التخزين الكهروكيميائية التي تمثل حاليا غالبية الشركات المصنعة للبطاريات والمستخدمين في العالم اليوم.
الشكل 1- الـ 1 نسبة كيمياء البطاريات المختلفة التي تباع في جميع أنحاء العالم كدالة من MWh
التين. 1 يظهر تقسيم تقريبي من قبل المبيعات MWh العالمية لأنواع مختلفة من البطاريات المنتجة سنويا. من الواضح أن حمض الرصاص وبطارية ليثيوم أيون هما من التقنيات التي تهيمن على أسواق البطاريات الحالية. ومن الواضح بنفس القدر، هو معدل النمو السريع جداً لبطاريات ليثيوني، وهناك مخاوف بشأن معدل النمو هذا. ويتمثل أحد هذه الصعوبات في عدم وجود عملية إعادة تدوير تجارية لبطاريات الليثيوم، مما قد يؤدي إلى مشاكل في نهاية العمر.

والآخر هو أنه قد لا تكون هناك مواد كافية لتصنيع البطاريات للطلب المتزايد. وهما ترتبط ارتباطا وثيقا ، وفي هذا بلوق ، وسوف ننظر في كيفية الرصاص حمض الكيمياء يمكن أن يكون نموذجا لإعادة تدوير البطارية من جميع أنواع أنظمة التخزين الكهروكيميائية.
واحدة من الفضائل التي تميز كيمياء حمض الرصاص، هو عصرها. وبسبب هذا قمنا بتطوير طرق لإعادة تدوير وإعادة استخدام جميع المواد الإنشائية، إلى الحد الذي يمكننا المطالبة بمعدل استعادة 100٪ تقريبا من البطارية كاملة.

هذه الإحصائية المثيرة للإعجاب ليست مجرد وظيفة من الطرق الميكانيكية والكيميائية المستخدمة لكسر وتصنيف وصقل المواد، بل هو أيضا عن وجود شبكة جمع والتوزيع. وقد عرفت عملية صهر وتكرير الرصاص للبشر لعدة آلاف من السنين. ومع ذلك، فإن سمات الرصاص ذاتها، التي تفضل إعادة تدوير البطاريات، أي انخفاض نقطة الذوبان وعدم التفاعل، هي تلك السمات التي تقلل من نشاطها الكهروكيميائي وبالتالي كثافة الطاقة. وهذه القابلية لإعادة التدوير هي عامل رئيسي في قبول الرصاص كمادة بناءة للبطاريات؛ هذا على الرغم من سميته المعروفة. والسمية هي التي تثير القلق حاليا، سواء بالنسبة لمصنعي البطاريات أو شركات إعادة تدوير البطاريات.

ولهذا السبب، يجري تطوير أساليب بديلة لتقنيات التلوث الحراري التقليدية. تعتمد هذه الطرق على ذوبان المواد النشطة للبطارية في المذيبات ، ثم استخراج الرصاص في مجموعة متنوعة من الأشكال الكيميائية. سوف نناقش إيجابيات وسلبيات كلا النهجين في بلوق المقبل وإعطاء وجهة نظر حول مزاياها النسبية. ولكن في هذه الحالة، نحن نركز على تكنولوجيا حمض الرصاص والبنية التحتية لإعادة التدوير والأساليب المستخدمة حاليا. وعند هذه النقطة، سيكون من المفيد أن تغطي بإيجاز المبادئ العامة لإعادة التدوير من أجل تقدير العقبات التي ينبغي التغلب عليها لإعادة تدوير جميع أنواع البطاريات بشكل فعال وتجاري.

10- ومن شأن التعريف العام لإعادة التدوير أن يكون:

  • “عمل أو عملية تحويل النفايات إلى مواد صالحة للاستعمال.
  • ويمكن زيادة صقل هذا التعريف وتقسيمه إلى تيارين: إعادة التدوير المفتوحة والمغلقة.
الشكل 2. نماذج إعادة تدوير البطارية التي تعرض نماذج إعادة التدوير المغلقة والمفتوحة
الشكل 1- الـ 1 نماذج إعادة التدوير القياسية التي تعرض نماذج إعادة التدوير المغلقة والمفتوحة
الشكل 3. الاقتصاد الدائري إعادة تدوير وثائق التفويض من بطاريات الرصاص الحمضية
الشكل 2- الانبعاثات 2 من 100 الاقتصاد الدائري إعادة تدوير وثائق التفويض من بطاريات الرصاص الحمضية

التين. 2 يعطي المبادئ العامة لكلا النوعين. حلقة مغلقة يعني أن المواد المستردة يتم إعادة استخدامها في الغرض الأصلي، مثل نفايات الزجاجات التي يعاد تدويرها في المزيد من الزجاجات. إعادة التدوير المفتوحة هي إعادة تحديد المواد المستردة في استخدام مختلف ، وربما استخدام واحد قبل أن ينتهي في النهاية كنفايات غير صالحة للاستعمال. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك حرق النفايات المنزلية لتوفير التدفئة المحلية لمركز تجاري. وستعتبر المنتجات الثانوية، التي تُعتبر إلى حد كبير غازات مثل أكاسيد النيتروجين وأكاسيد الكثانات وCOCO2، ملوثات. وأي منتجات ثانوية صلبة ستكون أيضا نفايات غير صالحة للاستعمال، وينتهي بها المطاف في مكب للنفايات.

وفي حين أن تعاريف إعادة التدوير الواردة أعلاه جيدة لأغراض المناقشة، فإننا نحتاج إلى إضافة كلمة واحدة: “اقتصاديا” بين التحويل والنفايات، من أجل أن تكون هناك عملية مجدية ماليا. هذا مهم وبدون هذا العامل الرئيسي، لن تقوم أي أعمال تجارية بالعمل الشاق والمكلف المطلوب لجمع النفايات ونقلها، فضلا عن تكلفة ونفقات استخراج المواد المطلوبة واستردادها. كمبدأ عام ليس هناك شك في أنه من الممكن من الناحية الفنية لاستعادة وإعادة تدوير أي شيء تقريبا من كل عنصر المصنعة على الأرض. التكنولوجيا والدراية موجودة. المشكلة هي، كم يكلف؟

مع هذه المبادئ في الاعتبار، يمكننا أن ننظر على وجه التحديد في إعادة تدوير البطارية. التين. 3، هو مخطط تخطيطي، مما يوضح التعميم، وممارسة إعادة التدوير الرسمية للبطاريات الرصاص الحمضية.

الشكل 3. الاقتصاد الدائري إعادة تدوير وثائق التفويض من بطاريات حمض الرصاص
الشكل 3- الانبعاثات 100-11 الاقتصاد الدائري إعادة تدوير وثائق التفويض من بطاريات حمض الرصاص
الشكل 4. كفاءة إعادة التدوير لبطاريات حمض الرصاص في الدول الأوروبية
الشكل 4- الانبعاثات 100 كفاءة إعادة التدوير لبطاريات حمض الرصاص في الدول الأوروبية

ومن هذا، يتضح أن هناك طريقاً جيداً ونا مستنيراً من التصنيع إلى التخلص من البطاريات واستعادتها. هناك نقاط تجميع حيث استخدمت نقاط إعادة تدوير البطاريات الخاصة والعامة أو الخاصة ببطاريات البطاريات التي أعادها المستهلك لغرض محدد هو إعادة تدوير البطارية إلى بطاريات جديدة. شيء واحد هو أن نلاحظ أن نقل البطاريات المستعملة يتطلب الاحتواء السليم نظرا لطبيعتها الخطرة. وتشير هذه الإجراءات وممارسات العمل إلى المنظمات الرسمية لإعادة تدوير البطاريات التي تتألف من شركات التجميع والتسليم، ومنظمات البيع بالتجزئة، ومصاهر الرصاص، والمصافي (التي تسمى في كثير من الأحيان شركات إعادة التدوير)، والتي يُجمعون معاً من خلال الغراء التشريعي واللوائح المتعلقة بجمع المواد الخطرة وتخزينها ونقلها.

ومع ذلك، وكما هو معترف به على نطاق واسع، هناك أيضا القطاع غير الرسمي الذي يقوم بإعادة تدوير البطاريات خارج نطاق القيود القانونية الباهظة التي تفرضها الطرق الرسمية.

ومع أن هذه الحالة معروفة في بلدان مثل أفريقيا والهند وأمريكا الجنوبية، فإنه يعتقد أن المزيد من الدول المتقدمة صناعياً التي تطبعها أوروبا لن تلجأ إلى عناصر غير رسمية في إطار هذه العملية المغلقة. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ينبغي أن يكون لدينا ما يقرب من 100٪ كفاءة إعادة تدوير البطارية داخل البلدان الأوروبية.

لسوء الحظ ، ليس هذا هو الحال ، و Fig. 4 يظهر حالة إعادة تدوير البطارية لغالبية أوروبا. وهنا يمكننا أن نرى أن 8 بلدان فقط من أصل 30 بلدا حققت أفضل من 90% من كفاءة إعادة تدوير البطاريات في عام 2018، مع وصول 4 بلدان فقط أو قريبة من الوصول إلى معدل استعادة وإعادة تدوير البطاريات بنسبة 100٪. ومع ذلك، هناك العديد من العوامل وراء هذه الإحصاءات، بما في ذلك معايير الإبلاغ والهدف المتحرك للمطابقة مع مستويات المبيعات السنوية الحالية، مع عمر البطارية وكمية الخردة المتاحة من مبيعات السنوات السابقة. يمكن أن حركة وتوزيع البطاريات الخردة في أوروبا في بعض الأحيان ، على الرغم من التشريعات ، لا تزال تحدث من خلال وسائل غير رسمية وآسفة لقول وسائل غير قانونية.

وهذا صحيح بصفة خاصة عندما يكون الطلب مرتفعا والعرض قصيرا.
وهذا يطرح النقطة التالية، وهي الارتباك بشأن الإحصائية التي كثيرا ما يستشهد بها، وهي أن البطاريات الحمضية بالرصاص يعاد تدويرها بنسبة 100 في المائة تقريبا. هذا صحيح عندما نتحدث عن كمية من استرداد مواد البطارية من هذه العملية، وليس المبلغ الإجمالي للبطاريات المعاد تدويرها. وهذا يعني أن ما يقرب من جميع البلاستيك والرصاص والحامض في البطارية ينتهي كمادة خام لمزيد من البطاريات. وفي بعض الحالات، يمكن أن يشمل المواد الوسيطة لمواد أخرى، مثل حمض الكبريتيك المستخدم في صنع الأسمدة.

وعلى أية حال، ليس من الممكن من الناحية الفنية استرداد 100% من أي شيء، لأن بعض الخسائر سوف تحدث حتماً، وإن كانت خسائر صغيرة تقل عن 1%. ويعني تحويل حمض الكبريتيك إلى استخدامات أخرى كما ذكرنا أيضا أن إجراءات الاسترداد لا تفي تماما بالنموذج الدائري الذي يصور بسعادة في المواقع الشبكية للمنظمات الرائدة وشركات إعادة تدوير البطاريات. نحن بحاجة أيضا إلى إضافة إلى هذا لا مفر منه الانبعاثات السامة والنفايات (الخبث) التي يمكن أن تولد عن طريق أساليب pyrometallurgical من الرصاص الحمضية البطارية إعادة التدوير.

لفهم معدلات إعادة تدوير البطارية ، أي خسائر في العمليات وأي نفايات المتولدة ، نحن بحاجة إلى فحص كل من المواد في بطارية حمض الرصاص وكذلك مبدأ الكيمياء والهندسة لعمليات الاسترداد. التين. 5 هو مخطط تخطيطي لعملية الاسترداد المستخدمة في إعادة تدوير حمض الرصاص البطارية.

الشكل 5. معالجة الطريق لخردة بطارية حمض الرصاص التي تم جمعها
الشكل 5- الانبعاثات 100-10 معالجة الطريق لخردة بطارية حمض الرصاص التي تم جمعها
الشكل 6. خردة بطارية حمض الرصاص التي تبدأ في المعالجة في مصنع لإعادة تدوير البطارية
الشكل 6- الانبعاثات 100-11 خردة بطارية حمض الرصاص التي تبدأ في المعالجة في مصنع لإعادة تدوير البطارية

في هذه الحالة، هو أساليب البيروميتورجية الحالية، التي هي حتى الآن العمليات الوحيدة المتاحة تجاريا. الرسم البياني يظهر 4 مراحل أساسية بعد جمع وتسليمها إلى موقع إعادة تدوير البطارية. وهذه الـمـُـرَيـ

  • كسر البطارية والفصل العنصري. يتم وضع خردة البطارية في طاحونة مطرقة ليتم كسرها ، ثم فصلها إلى عجينة أساسية تحمل الرصاص ، حبيبات الشبكة المعدنية ، بتات بلاستيكية ومكونات حمضية ، Fig. 6.
  • 10 – إزالة الكبريت. يتم التعامل مع عجينة أو مادة نشطة leady مع رماد الصودا لإزالة الكبريت.
  • صهر (انفجار أو صدى) الفرن. ثم صهر عجينة desulfated في انفجار أو الفرن صدى للحد من مركبات الرصاص إلى سبائك الرصاص لينة أو الصلب، اعتمادا على تكوين الخردة والمنتج النهائي المقصود، التين. 7.
الشكل 7. فرن ترددي تستخدم لبطارية حمض الرصاص إعادة تدوير المواد النشطة
الشكل 7- الانبعاثات 100-10 فرن ترددي تستخدم لبطارية حمض الرصاص إعادة تدوير المواد النشطة
الشكل 8. التخطيطي مقارنة اثنين من طرق حل لقيادة بطارية حمض إعادة تدوير المواد النشطة
الشكل 8- الانبعاثات التخطيطي مقارنة اثنين من طرق حل لقيادة بطارية حمض إعادة تدوير المواد النشطة
  • صقل سبائك الرصاص. الطريقة الأكثر شيوعا هي التكلس لإنتاج إما لينة (نقية) الرصاص أو الثابت (سبيكة) الرصاص.
    هذا الرسم البياني يطرح بعض النقاط المثيرة للاهتمام. وإلى جانب المكونات المعاد تدويرها كمنتجات، هناك أيضاً مشكلة الانبعاثات في مراحل عملية مختلفة.

وهذه الانبعاثات هي عموماً انبعاثات غازات في الغلاف الجوي والنفايات السائلة (أكاسيد التكاد، وOx، وأكاسيد النيتروجين)، والغبار الحامل للرصاص والمياه السائلة التي تحتوي على ملوثات مثل الكبريت والرصاص. وهذه الانبعاثات تحكمها المعايير الوطنية والمحلية في كل بلد تمارس فيه عملية إعادة تدوير الرصاص. فالمستويات الحديثة صغيرة جداً وتلوث الهواء والأرض والمياه هو عموماً مشكلة في الماضي في القطاع الرسمي المنظم. غير أن هذا لا ينطبق على القطاع غير الرسمي الذي كان ولا يزال، وفقاً لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، مسؤولاً عن تلوث كبير للأراضي ورفع مستويات الرصاص في الدم في بعض المدن والقرى.

ومن التطورات الأخرى في عملية المعالجة بالانتعاش الحراري استعادة الملوثات الفلزية من الخبث النفاياتيمكن أن تجعل هذه المخلفات مناسبة لمشاريع التعبئة البرية أو البرية.
ومن الأمثلة على عمليات الانحلال هذه تكنولوجيات أوريليوس وسيتريسيككل الحاصلة على براءة اختراع. كل من هذه الشركات لديها عملية التي تستخدم حمض الستريك كمذيب لحل عجينة الرصاص قبل استرداده مجموعة متنوعة من مركبات الرصاص لمزيد من العلاج.

الرسم التخطيطي للتدفق Fig8 الذي يقارن بين هاتين العمليتين. من الرسم البياني، يمكن ملاحظة أن خردة البطارية لا تزال مكسورة وفصلت كما هو الحال مع الطريقة التقليدية، ولكن عملية الصهر و desulfurization مفقودة. هناك منتج بيع قادرة، وسيترات الرصاص المجففة التي يمكن بيعها إلى القطاع الرسمي لمزيد من المعالجة في ظل ظروف خاضعة للرقابة وتنظيم. وقد اقترح أن يعتمد هذا النوع من العمليات في شكل وحدات، تحت سيطرة السلطة المحلية، من جانب قطاع إعادة التدوير غير الرسمي الحالي. وسيكون له فائدة مزدوجة لا من مجرد منع التلوث بالرصاص وتسمم الدم ولكن أيضا جذب المعاد تدوير غير رسمية إلى السيطرة على قطاع إعادة التدوير الرسمي.

بطاريات حمض الرصاص هي السلعة الأكثر إعادة تدويرها على هذا الكوكب! - Fig.9

الشكل 9. حالة المعدلات العالمية لإعادة تدوير المواد

إن قطاع إعادة تدوير البطاريات الحمضية الرصاصية هو في الواقع نموذج لاقتصاد دائري ويمكن أن يؤخذ كمخطط للمرحلة الأولى يمكن أن تستمد منه التكرارات المختلفة التي تناسب كيمياء البطاريات المختلفة. ومع ذلك، هناك تحديات تتمحور حول سمية الرصاص والتحكم في الانبعاثات ومنتجات النفايات من الطرق الحالية لإعادة تدوير البطاريات البيرووميتالرجية. وينبغي تحسين إدارة القطاع غير الرسمي الذي لا يفي بالمتطلبات القانونية التي وضعتها الحكومات الوطنية والمحلية عند جمع البطاريات الخردة وتخزينها وتجهيزها. ومع ذلك، فإن العمليات الجديدة الأرخص والأكثر ملاءمة للبيئة، المصممة لمعالجة قضايا التلوث والسلامة، تقترب من التوافر التجاري.

مع هذه الأساليب، التي هي أكثر أمانا وأقل تلويثا، فإن الهدف لإنتاج الرصاص الناعمة من أربع وتسعات من خردة البطارية يكون قابلا للتحقيق. تؤثر الاقتصادات والسياسات العالمية على توريد المواد والرصاص المستخدم في تصنيع البطاريات. إعادة تدوير البطارية كاملة من جميع الخردة البطارية ولدت داخليا، وذلك باستخدام الطرق التي تنتج أقل CO2، وإزالة الخبث وتقليل التلوث، هو الطريق إلى الأمام. في حين أن الوضع الحالي لإعادة تدوير البطاريات الحمضية الرصاص قد يكون النموذج الحالي، والصناعة لا تزال تسعى جاهدة لتحسين لجعل جميع عملياتها أنظف وأكثر أمانا وأكثر ملاءمة للبيئة.

التكنولوجيات الجديدة التي تأمل في تحقيق هذا الهدف يمكن أن تكون خطوة كبيرة إلى الأمام، وMicrotex كما هو الحال دائما، ستكون في طليعة لإعلام عملائها وشركائها بدقة من أحدث التطورات تكنولوجيا البطارية التي تؤثر بشكل مباشر علينا جميعا.

انتقل إلى أعلى

Battery Recycling

Battery Recycling

This post is also available in: हिन्दी العربية

Lead acid Battery Recycling

A Paradigm for battery recycling in a circular economy

In this blog, we will be looking at battery recycling particularly lead acid batteries as a model for the energy storage industry. We are all aware of the concept and benefit of a circular economy. The most critical part of that is having not only recycling processes for used goods but also an established, safe infrastructure for collection and transport of the scrap materials. With the burgeoning use of batteries for many commercial and industrial applications, notably electric vehicles and Energy Storage Systems, there is increasing concern over the sourcing of battery raw materials and the recyclability of those batteries. It is fairly obvious that their recyclability and the availability of raw materials for their manufacture are inextricably linked.

There are several electrochemical storage technologies which currently represent the majority of battery manufacturers and users in the world today.
Figure 1. The proportion of different battery chemistries sold worldwide as a function of MWh
Fig. 1 shows the approximate split by global MWh sales of the different types of batteries produced annually. Clearly lead acid and lithium-ion battery are two technologies that dominate the current battery markets. Equally clear, is the very rapid growth rate of li-ion batteries, and there are concerns about this growth rate. One is the lack of a commercial recycling process for lithium batteries which may result in the end of life disposal problems.

The other is that there may be insufficient materials to manufacture batteries for the growing demand. The two are inextricably linked and in this blog, we will be looking at how lead acid chemistry could be a model for battery recycling of all types of electrochemical storage systems.
One of the virtues that distinguish lead acid chemistry, is its age. Because of this we have developed methods of recycling and reusing all of the constructional materials, to the extent that we can claim almost a 100% recovery rate of the complete battery.

This impressive statistic is not just a function of the mechanical and chemical methods used for breaking, classification and refining of the materials, it is also about having a collection and distribution network. The process of lead smelting and refining has been known to humans for several thousands of years. However, the very attributes of lead, which favour battery recycling, i.e. low melting point and lack of reactivity, are those attributes which reduce its electrochemical activity and therefore its energy density. This recyclability is a major factor in the acceptance of lead as a constructional material for batteries; this is despite its known toxicity. It is the toxicity which is currently of concern, both for battery manufacturers and battery recyclers.

For this reason, alternative methods to the traditional polluting pyrometallurgical techniques are being developed. These methods rely on the dissolution of the battery active material in solvents, then extracting the lead in a variety of chemical forms. We will discuss the pros and cons of both approaches in the next blog and give a view on their relative merits. But for this instance, we are concentrating on the lead-acid technology and the recycling infrastructure and methods currently in use. At this point, it would be useful to briefly cover the general principles of recycling in order to appreciate the hurdles which need to be overcome to effectively and commercially recycle all battery types.

A general definition of recycling would be:

  • “The action or process of converting waste into useable materials.”
  • This definition can be further refined and split into two streams: open and closed-loop recycling.
Fig 2. Battery recycling models showing closed and open-loop recycling models
Figure 1. Standard recycling models showing closed and open-loop recycling models
Fig 3. Circular economy recycling credentials of lead-acid batteries
Figure 2. Circular economy recycling credentials of lead-acid batteries

Fig. 2 gives the general principles of both types. Closed-loop means that the materials recovered are reused in their original purpose, such as waste glass bottles being recycled into more glass bottles. Open-loop recycling is the repurposing of the recovered materials into a different, and probably single use before finally ending up as unusable waste. An example of this would be the incineration of domestic waste to provide local heating to a shopping mall. The by-products, largely gases such as NOx, SOx and CO2, would be considered pollutants. Any solid by-products would also be an unusable waste, ending up in a landfill.

Whilst the definitions of recycling given above are fine for discussion purposes, we would need to add one word: “economically” between converting and waste, in order to have a financially viable process. This is important. Without this key factor, no business would take on the laborious, expensive processes needed to collect and transport the waste, as well as the cost and expense of extracting and recovering the required materials. As a general principle there is little doubt that it is technically possible to recover and recycle almost anything from every manufactured component on Earth. The technology and know-how exist. The problem is, how much does it cost?

With these principles in mind, we can look specifically into battery recycling. Fig. 3, is a schematic diagram, illustrating the circular, official recycling practice for lead-acid batteries.

Fig 3. Circular economy recycling credentials of lead acid batteries
Figure 3. Circular economy recycling credentials of lead acid batteries
Fig 4. Recycling efficiency for lead acid batteries in European Nations
Figure 4. Recycling efficiency for lead acid batteries in European Nations

From this, it is evident that there is a well-established and informed route from manufacture to disposal and recovery of batteries. There are collection points where the original retailer or private and public battery recycling points have used batteries returned by the consumer for the specific purpose of battery recycling into new batteries. One thing to note is that the transportation of used batteries requires proper containment due to their hazardous nature. These procedures and working practices refer to the official battery recycling organizations which consist of collection and delivery companies, retail organizations, lead smelters and refiners (often called recyclers), which are held together by the glue of legislation and regulation for the collection, storage and transport of hazardous materials.

However, as is widely recognized there is also the informal sector which do battery recycling outside of the expensive legal constraints of the official routes.

Whilst this situation is known to exist in countries such as Africa, India and South America, it is believed that more industrially developed nations typified by Europe would not have recourse to informal elements within this closed-loop process. If so we should have near 100% battery recycling efficiency within European countries.

Unfortunately, this is not the case, and Fig. 4 shows the status of battery recycling for the majority of Europe. Here we can see that only 8 out of 30 countries achieved better than 90% battery recycling efficiency in 2018, with only 4 countries reaching or close to reaching a 100% recovery and battery recycling rate. However, there are many factors behind these statistics, including reporting criteria and the moving target of matching current annual sales levels, with battery life and the amount of scrap available from previous years’ sales. The movement and distribution of scrap batteries in Europe can sometimes, despite legislation, still occur through informal and sorry to say illegal means.

This is particularly true when demand is high and supply is short.
This brings up the next point, which is confusion over the often-quoted statistic, that lead-acid batteries are almost 100% recycled. This is true when we are talking about the amount of recovery of battery materials from the process, not the total amount of batteries recycled. This means that nearly all the plastic, lead and acid in the battery ends up as feedstock for more batteries. In some cases, it can include feedstock for other materials, such as sulphuric acid being used to make fertilizer.

In any event, it is not technically possible to recover 100% of anything, as some losses will inevitably occur, albeit small losses of less than 1%. The diversion of sulphuric acid to other uses as mentioned also means that the recovery procedures do not completely meet the circular model which is happily portrayed in the websites of lead organizations and battery recycling companies. We need also to add into this the inevitable toxic emissions and waste (slag) which can be generated by pyrometallurgical methods of lead-acid battery recycling.

To understand the battery recycling rates, any losses in the processes and any waste generated, we need to examine both the materials in a lead acid battery and also the chemistry and engineering principle of the recovery processes. Fig. 5 is a schematic diagram of the recovery process used in lead acid battery recycling.

Fig 5. Processing route for collected lead acid battery scrap
Figure 5. Processing route for collected lead acid battery scrap
Fig 6. Lead acid battery scrap starting to be processed at a battery recycling plant
Figure 6. Lead acid battery scrap starting to be processed at a battery recycling plant

In this case, it is the current pyrometallurgical methods, which so far are the only commercially available processes. The diagram shows 4 basic stages after collection and delivery to the battery recycling site. These are:

  • Battery breaking and segregation. The battery scrap is put into a hammer mill to be broken, then separated into basic lead-bearing paste, metallic grid granules, plastic bits and acid components, Fig. 6.
  • Desulfurization. The paste or leady active material is treated with soda ash to remove the sulfur.
  • Smelting (blast or reverberatory) furnace. The desulfated paste is then smelted in a blast or reverberatory furnace to reduce the leady compounds to soft or hard lead bullion, depending on the composition of the scrap and the intended final product, Fig. 7.
Fig 7. Reverberatory furnace used for lead acid battery active material recycling
Figure 7. Reverberatory furnace used for lead acid battery active material recycling
Fig 8. Schematic comparing two dissolution routes to lead acid battery active material recycling
Figure 8. Schematic comparing two dissolution routes to lead acid battery active material recycling
  • Refining the lead bullion. The most common method is calcining to produce either soft (pure) lead or hard (alloy) lead.
    This diagram throws up some interesting points. Along with the recycled components as products, there is also the problem of emissions at various process stages.

These are generally atmospheric and effluent emissions of gases (COx, SOx, NOx), lead-bearing dust and effluent water containing contaminants such as sulphur and lead. These emissions are governed by national and local standards in every country where lead recycling is practised. Modern levels are very small and contamination of air, land and water are generally a problem of the past in the regulated formal sector. However, this is not true of the informal sector which, according to the WHO, has been, and still is, responsible for significant land contamination and raised blood lead levels in some cities and villages.

Another development in the pyrometallurgical process is the recovery of metallic contaminants from the waste slag which can make this waste fraction suitable for land or road fill projects.
Two examples of these dissolution processes are the patented technologies of Aurelius and Citrecycle. Both of these companies have a process which uses citric acid as the solvent for dissolving the leady paste before recovering it a variety of lead compounds for further treatment.

The flow diagram Fig8 which compares both of these processes. From the diagram, it can be seen that the battery scrap is still broken and segregated as with the conventional method, but the smelting and desulfurization process is missing. There is a sale-able product, the dried lead citrate which can be sold on to the formal sector for further processing under controlled and regulated conditions. It has been proposed that this type of process could be adopted in modular form, under local authority control, by the current informal recycling sector. It would have the dual benefit of not only preventing lead contamination and blood poisoning but also draw the informal recyclers into the control of the formal recycling sector.

Lead acid batteries are the most recycled commodity on the planet! - Fig.9

Fig 9. Status of global material recycling rates

The lead acid battery recycling sector is indeed a model for a circular economy and could be taken as a first stage blueprint from which various iterations could be derived which are suitable for different battery chemistries. However, there are challenges centred around the toxicity of lead and the control of emissions and waste products from the current pyrometallurgical battery recycling methods. Managing the informal sector which does not fulfil the legal requirements laid down by national and local governments when collecting, storing and processing scrap batteries, needs to be improved. However, new cheaper and more environmentally friendly processes, designed to address the pollution and safety issues, are nearing commercial availability.

With these methods, which are safer and less polluting, the goal to produce four-nines soft lead from battery scrap will be achievable. Global economics and politics affect the supply of material and lead used in battery manufacture. Complete battery recycling of all internally generated battery scrap, using methods which produce less CO2, remove slag and minimize pollution, is the way forward. Whilst the present situation of lead acid battery recycling may be the current exemplar, the industry still strives to improve to make all of its processes cleaner, safer and more environmentally friendly.

The new technologies which hope to achieve this goal could be a significant step forward, and Microtex as always, will be at the forefront of accurately informing its customers and partners of the latest battery technology developments which directly affect us all.

We will keep you informed of the next article!

Sign up to our newsletter

3029

Read our Privacy Policy here

Scroll to Top