انبوبي

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟

This post is also available in: English

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟

بطاريات حمض الرصاص

أثناء شحن جميع البطاريات الرصاص الحمضية إنتاج الهيدروجين والأكسجين الذي تطور من قبل تفكك المنحل بالكهرباء إلى الهيدروجين والأكسجين. قرب نهاية الشحنة، يزيد معدل إنتاج غازات الهيدروجين والأكسجين. كما أنه يزيد إذا كانت البطارية مشحونة أو مشحونة بسرعة كبيرة. البطاريات المغمورة بالمياه دائماً تترك هذه الغازات من خلال مقابس الفتحة. مصدر الإشعال بالقرب من هذه المنطقة حيث تركيز غازات الهيدروجين على مدى الانفجار من 4٪ يزيد من خطر الانفجار.

إذا كان هناك مسار موجود في البطارية كما هو الحال في بطارية تنفيس، قد تستمر الشعلة في غلاف البطارية، إشعال الغازات التي قد تكون داخل، وبالتالي زيادة الضغط داخل الحاوية وتسبب في انفجار الحاوية. تفاعل الانفجار هو 2H2 + O2 = > 2H2O + الحرارة. في بطاريات SMF لا يمكن للشعلة دخول الحاوية كما هو مختوم. تنفيس صمام النشرات كميات قليلة جدا من الغاز الذي لا يكفي لإشعال.

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟ المصدر الرئيسي - غاز الهيدروجين!

غاز الهيدروجين يجري أخف وزنا من الهواء يتفرق بسهولة في الغلاف الجوي. إذا كانت المنطقة المحيطة بالبطارية مغلقة دون أي فتح (مثل 8 بطاريات داخل صندوق بطارية عربة الغولف دون تهوية) هذه الغازات يمكن أن تؤدي بسهولة إلى انفجار قوي يمكن أن يكون عربة الغولف بأكملها في النيران، إذا كان هناك شرارة صغيرة (مثل من محرك مفرش الركل في أو بسبب وصلات فضفاضة على محطات البطارية).

يمكن أن تنفجر بطاريات الرصاص الحمضية أثناء الشحن الزائد والغاز وعندما تتجاوز نسبة غاز الهيدروجين التي تطورت 4٪ من حيث الحجم. الأكسجين والهواء تشكل خليط المتفجرة مع الهيدروجين 4٪. الهيدروجين هو عديم الرائحة، عديم اللون و الغاز شديد الاشتعال. الأسباب المحتملة لتنفجر البطارية:

  • شرارة بالقرب من البطارية التي هي تحت تهمة
  • الكابلات المهترئة على محطات البطارية
  • تتبع عبر أغطية البطاريات الرطبة أثناء الشحن
  • سبارت أو حرائق، بالقرب من البطاريات التي هي تحت تهمة داخل غرفة البطارية

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟ المصدر التالي - أجهزة الشحن ذات الجودة الرديئة

أجهزة الشحن ذات الجودة الرديئة لديها تنظيم الجهد سيئة ويمكن أن يسبب الشحن الزائد. وهذا يؤدي إلى تطور غازات الهيدروجين، التي تحدث عادة فقط في نهاية الشحنة. يمكن أن يتراكم الهيدروجين داخل الخلية إذا تم حظر القابس تنفيس عن طريق الغبار. أو عندما الغاز هو قوي مع معدل التنفيس يجري بطيئة بالمقارنة مع معدل الغاز المتولدة. في المسار الطبيعي، والسيراميك المسامية أو تنفيس البلاستيك سد مع ثقب المقدمة يسمح الهيدروجين، لنشر بشكل طبيعي.

كثافة غاز الهيدروجين – 0.000089 ز / لتر
كثافة غاز الأكسجين – 1.42 غرام / لتر (16000 مرات أثقل مقارنة مع الهيدروجين)
يحدث الانفجار / النار على الرغم من الهيدروجين يجري 16000 مرات أخف وزنا. يمكن أن يتراكم الهيدروجين فقط عندما تكون المنطقة المحيطة بالبطارية مغلقة. حتى شرارة صغيرة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى انفجار البطارية.

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟ مقابس تنفيس مسدودة

إذا كانت المقابس تنفيس على البطارية قذرة & انسداد من الغبار يمكن أن تتراكم الغازات داخل البطارية وأي شرارة بالقرب من البطارية سوف يسبب الغازات الهيدروجين حول لإشعال النار التي سيتم نشرها في الخلية مما يؤدي إلى انفجار البطارية & في بعض الأحيان يمكن أن تفجر الغطاء. العلاج هو ضمان عدم حظر سدادات تنفيس البطارية. قم دائماً بإزالة مقابس الفتحات في البطارية المغمورة أثناء شحن البطارية.

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟ عامل مهم - كابلات البطارية المهترئة

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟
كابلات البطارية المتوترة - مسألة خطيرة

الكابلات المهترئة على محطات البطارية

تأكد دائمًا من أن الكابلات المتصلة بمحطات البطارية جيدة دون أي نهايات سلكية مهترئة عند الأطراف المععدة للموصلات الطرفية. النهايات المهترئة هي مصدر الشرر ويمكن أن تسبب بسهولة انفجار البطارية إذا كان يوجد داخل البطارية حاوية بطارية مغلقة. المحركات المصقولة بالقرب من شرارة البطارية في كل مرة تبدأ فيها. لذا تأكد من أن المحركات المصقولة يتم فصلها عن البطارية بشكل جيد. أحياناً قد يكون كابل البطارية مهترَكًا عند النقطة التي يدخل فيها إلى صندوق البطارية عند نقطة ملامسة الحاوية المعدنية. تحقق من أن الكابل ليس بزاوية حادة عند نقطة الدخول.

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟ عامل آخر تجاهلها...!

تتبع عبر أغطية البطاريات الرطبة أثناء الشحن
فمن المحتم أن بعض كمية من فقاعات حمض البطارية خارج أثناء شحن البطارية. خصوصا في نهاية الشحن تطور الهيدروجين سريع ويسبب الانسكابات الحامض والحامض على غطاء البطاريات. ترك الكابلات تتبع أكثر من هذه الانسكابات ليست شيئا جيدا لأنه يسبب الأرض تسرب الجهد. دائماً مسح نظيفة أي قطرات حمض بعد اكتمال الشحن.

سبارت أو حرائق، بالقرب من البطاريات التي هي تحت تهمة داخل غرفة البطارية

سيتراكم غاز الهيدروجين داخل الغرفة عندما تكون التهوية ضعيفة. يجمع الغاز بالقرب من السقف ويتراكم ما يصل إلى 4٪ من حيث الحجم. هذا هو خليط المتفجرة ويتم تشغيلها من قبل حتى شرارة صغيرة. عندما يتراكم الغاز داخل خلية أثناء الشحن ولا يتم تنفيسه على الفور ، يمكن أن يتراكم الهيدروجين داخل الغرفة. ويصبح غاز الهيدروجين متفجراً بتركيز 4 في المائة. شرارة صغيرة في محطة البطارية أو موصل سوف تؤدي إلى انفجار تسبب أضرارا كبيرة. يجب ألا تكون غرف شحن البطارية في غرف مغلقة. يجب أن يكون هناك تهوية كافية داخل غرفة البطارية. الهيدروجين يجري أخف بكثير من الهواء، يهرب بسهولة من خلال التهوية.

لماذا تنفجر البطاريات؟ كيفية تجنب ذلك؟

تجنب الأدوات المعدنية بالقرب من البطاريات لتجنب الشرر العرضي. استخدام أدوات معزولة- التفاف الشريط العزل الكهربائي على مقابض من المهاد هو بسيط جدا.
اغسل مقابس الفتحات بالصابون والماء إذا تم استخدام البطارية في البيئات المغبرة مثل على مسار ترابي في ملعب للجولف. انفجارات بطارية عربة الغولف ليست غير عادية.
فمن الأفضل للحد من الحالية الشحن قرب نهاية الشحن. معظم أجهزة شحن البطاريات الحديثة تفعل ذلك تلقائيا.
تستخدم الشركات المصنعة للبطارية جيدة شعلة صغيرة القبض على قرص السيراميك داخل المكونات تنفيس. يمكنك التحقق لمعرفة ما إذا كان المكونات تنفيس الخاص بك هو وجود هذا من خلال النظر في حفرة. سترى قرص أبيض.

لماذا رائحة بطاريتي مثل البيض الفاسد؟

كما يمكن أن ينتج الشحن الزائد في حمض الرصاص كبريتيد الهيدروجين. كبريتيد الهيدروجين هو غاز عديم اللون، سام للغاية وقابل للاشتعال مع رائحة قوية من البيض الفاسد. هذا الغاز يحدث أيضا بشكل طبيعي في المواد الغذائية النتانة والمتحللة أو المواد العضوية. إذا وجدت رائحة قرب البطارية، ببساطة إيقاف الشاحن والابتعاد عن رائحة حتى يمسح تماما. تذكر أن هذا هو فقط نتيجة لشحن البطارية ولا يحدث في كل وقت.

انتقل إلى أعلى

tubular

Why do batteries explode?

This post is also available in: العربية

Why do batteries explode?

Lead acid batteries

During charging all lead-acid batteries produce hydrogen & oxygen which is evolved by the breaking up of the electrolyte into hydrogen & oxygen. Towards the end of the charge, the rate of production of hydrogen & oxygen gases increases. It also increases if the battery is overcharged or charged too rapidly. Flooded batteries always let out these gases through the vent plugs. An ignition source near this area where the concentration of hydrogen gases is over the explosive range of 4% increases the risk of explosion.

If a path exists into the battery like in a vented battery, the flame may continue into the battery casing, igniting gases that may be inside, thereby increasing the pressure inside the container & causing the container to explode. The explosion reaction is 2H2 + O2 => 2H2O + Heat. In SMF batteries the flame can’t enter the container as it is sealed. The vent-valve releases very little amounts of gas that is insufficient to ignite.

Why do batteries explode? the main source - Hydrogen gas!

Hydrogen gas being lighter than air easily disperses into the atmosphere. If the area around the battery is enclosed without any opening (like 8 batteries inside a golf cart battery box without ventilation) these gases can easily result in a powerful explosion that could have the whole golf cart in flames, if there is a small spark (such as from a brushed motor kicking in or due to loose connections on the battery terminals).

Lead-acid batteries can explode during overcharge and gassing and when the percentage of hydrogen gas evolved exceeds 4 % by volume. Oxygen and air form an explosive mixture with 4% hydrogen. Hydrogen is an odourless, colourless & a highly inflammable gas. Possible causes for a battery to explode:

  • Spark near the battery which is under a charge
  • Frayed cables on battery terminals
  • Tracking across wet battery lids during charging
  • Sparks or fires, near batteries which is under charge inside the battery room

Why do batteries explode? the next source - poor quality chargers

Poor quality chargers have bad voltage regulation and can cause overcharge. This leads to the evolution of hydrogen gases, which normally occurs only at the end of charge. Hydrogen can accumulate within a cell if the vent plug is blocked by dust. Or when gassing is vigorous with the rate of venting being slow compared to the rate of gas generated. In the normal course, the porous ceramic or plastic vent plug with a hole provided allows the hydrogen, to diffuse out naturally.

The density of hydrogen gas – 0.000089 g/L
The density of oxygen gas – 1.42 g/L ( 16000 times heavier compared to hydrogen)
The explosion/fire happens in spite of hydrogen being 16000 times lighter. Hydrogen can accumulate only when the area around the battery is enclosed. Even a small spark can lead to the battery explosion.

Why do batteries explode? clogged vent plugs

If the vent plugs on the battery are dirty & clogged from dust the gases can accumulate inside the battery & any spark near the battery will cause the hydrogen gases around to catch fire which will be propagated into the cell leading to the battery exploding & sometimes the lid could blow out. The remedy is to ensure the battery vent plugs are not blocked. Always remove the vent plugs in a flooded battery during battery charging.

Why do batteries explode? an important factor - Frayed battery cables

Why do batteries explode?
Frayed battery cables - a serious matter

Frayed cables on battery terminals

Always ensure the cables connected to the battery terminals are good without any frayed wire ends at the crimped ends of the terminal connectors. Frayed ends are a source of sparks and can easily cause the battery to explode if the battery is housed inside a closed battery container. Brushed motors near the battery spark every time they kick in. SO ensure the brushed motors are separated from the battery well. Sometimes the battery cable may be frayed at the point where it enters into the battery box at the point of contact of the metal container. Check to see that the cable is not at a sharp angle at the entry point.

Why do batteries explode? another overlooked factor...!

Tracking across wet battery lids during charging
It is inevitable that some amount of battery acid bubbles out during battery charging. Especially at the end of charge the evolution of hydrogen is rapid and causes the bubbling & acid spills on the lid of the batteries. Leaving cables tracking over such spills is not a good thing as it causes earth leakage voltage. Always wipe clean any acid droplets after the charging is complete.

Sparks or fires, near batteries which is under charge inside the battery room

Hydrogen gas will accumulate inside the room when ventilation is poor. The gas collects near the ceiling and builds up to 4% by volume. This is an explosive mixture and is triggered by even a tiny spark. When gas accumulates inside a cell during charge and is not vented out promptly, hydrogen can build up inside the room. Hydrogen gas becomes explosive at a concentration of 4 per cent. A tiny spark at the battery terminal or connector will trigger an explosion causing considerable damage. Battery charging rooms should never be in closed rooms. There should be adequate ventilation inside the battery room. Hydrogen being much lighter than air, easily escapes through the ventilation.

Why do batteries explode? how to avoid it?

Avoid metallic tools near the batteries to avoid accidental sparks. Use insulated tools- wrapping electrical insulation tape over the handles of the spanner is very simple.
Wash the vent plugs with soap & water if the battery is used in dusty environments like on a dirt track in a golf course. Golf cart battery explosions are not unusual.
It is best to reduce the charging current towards the end of charge. Most modern battery chargers do this automatically.
Good battery manufacturers use a microporous flame arresting ceramic disc inside the vent plug. You can check to see if your vent plug is having this by looking into the hole. You would see a white disc.

Why does my battery smell like rotten eggs?

Overcharging in a lead acid can also produce hydrogen sulfide. Hydrogen sulphide is a colorless, highly poisonous & inflammable gas with a strong smell of rotten eggs. This gas also occurs naturally in rancid & decaying food or organic matter. If you find the smell coming near your battery, simply turn off the charger & stay away from the smell until it completely clears up. Remember this is only a result of overcharging your battery & does not happen all the time.

Please email us at webmaster@microtexindia.com

Please share

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Hand picked articles for you!
Acid used in battery
Components

Ultimate guide to acid used in battery

This post is also available in: العربيةAcid used in battery The term acid used in battery usually refers to sulphuric acid for lead-acid batteries. Sulphuric …

Read More →
Winter Storage of Lead acid battery
Maintenance

Winter Storage of Lead Acid Battery

This post is also available in: العربيةWinter storage of lead acid batteries How to store batteries during long periods of absence? Flooded Lead-acid batteries are …

Read More →
Acid filling
Maintenance

Acid filling lead acid battery

This post is also available in: العربيةFilling lead acid battery For the user or dealer, there are 2 types of batteries which need to be …

Read More →
Scroll to Top